Greenland: A Novel
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
HarperAudio, 2022.
Format
eAudiobook
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

More Details

Physical Description
10h 0m 21s
Language
English
ISBN
9780063159587

Syndetics Unbound

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

David Santos Donaldson., David Santos Donaldson|AUTHOR., & Theo Solomon|READER. (2022). Greenland: A Novel . HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

David Santos Donaldson, David Santos Donaldson|AUTHOR and Theo Solomon|READER. 2022. Greenland: A Novel. HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

David Santos Donaldson, David Santos Donaldson|AUTHOR and Theo Solomon|READER. Greenland: A Novel HarperAudio, 2022.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

David Santos Donaldson, David Santos Donaldson|AUTHOR, and Theo Solomon|READER. Greenland: A Novel HarperAudio, 2022.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID7ac8b2cc-4dde-9854-8d69-3a2a921dcefd-eng
Full titlegreenland
Authordonaldson david santos
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2023-08-15 21:00:35PM
Last Indexed2024-04-13 03:42:29AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcehoopla
First LoadedApr 28, 2023
Last UsedFeb 17, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2022
    [artist] => David Santos Donaldson
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/hpc_9780063159587_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 14620051
    [isbn] => 9780063159587
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Greenland
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [duration] => 10h 0m 21s
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => David Santos Donaldson
                    [artistFormal] => Donaldson, David Santos
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

            [1] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Theo Solomon
                    [artistFormal] => Solomon, Theo
                    [relationship] => READER
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Fiction
        )

    [price] => 2.99
    [id] => 14620051
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => AUDIOBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => A dazzling, debut novel-within-a-novel in the vein of The Prophets and Memorial, about a young author writing about the secret love affair between E.M. Forster and Mohammed el Adl, in which Mohammed’s story collides with his own, blending fact and fiction.

In 1919, Mohammed el Adl, the young Egyptian lover of British author E. M. Forster, spent six months in a jail cell. A century later, Kip Starling has locked himself in his Brooklyn basement study with a pistol and twenty-one gallons of Poland Spring to write Mohammed’s story.

Kip has only three weeks, until his publisher’s deadline to immerse himself in the mind of Mohammed who, like Kip, is Black, queer, an Other. The similarities don't end there. Both of their lives have been deeply affected by their confrontations with Whiteness, homophobia, their upper crust education, and their white romantic partners. As Kip immerses himself in his writing, Mohammed’s story – and then Mohammed himself – begins to speak to him, and his life becomes a Proustian portal into Kip's own memories and psyche. Greenland seamlessly conjures two distinct yet overlapping worlds where the past mirrors the present, and the artist’s journey transforms into a quest for truth that offers a world of possibility.

 Electric and unforgettable, David Santos Donaldson’s tour de force excavates the dream of white assimilation, the foibles of interracial relationships, and not only the legacy of a literary giant, but literature itself.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14620051
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Novel
    [publisher] => HarperAudio
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)